

## JURY'S DECISION ON THE 2022 ANTONIO MORENO ESPEJO JOURNALISM AWARD

24 January 2023

Carles Tamayo has obtained the award for the report entitled "<u>8</u>
<u>HORAS con 7000 CRYPTO BROS</u>", published on the
@TamayoStuff YouTube channel

The Jury of the 2022 Antonio Moreno Espejo Journalism Award has decided to give the award in its sixth edition to the report "8 HORAS con 7000 CRYPTO BROS", prepared by Carles Tamayo and published on his YouTube channel.

The Jury based its decision on the quality of the work within the investigative journalism genre, the relevance of the subject when dealing with the risks of unregulated products and offers regarding a specific case, and for targeting a young audience using a language that is clear and straightforward. This report, with over 700,000 views, is an example of the new trends in journalism, preparing and distributing its content making use of the possibilities afforded by technology. Furthermore, it sticks to the basic principles of journalism regarding professional rigour, veracity and quality, while making these compatible with the latest trends in this profession.

Similarly, the award-winning work brings information and entertainment together to reveal and alert about possible cases of fraud to investors, thus continuing in the line followed by the author in previous reports.

145 journalistic works disseminated across 37 different media or channels were entered into or selected on a preliminary basis for this year's call.

The CNMV created this award in memory of Antonio Moreno Espejo, a member of the institution's staff from its inception in the late eighties until his untimely death, when he was the Head of the Institution Authorisation and Registration Department, in January 2017. The award carries a cash price of €15,000.

The members of the Jury for this edition were the following:

- Mariano Bacigalupo Saggese, CNMV Commissioner, acting as Chairman;
- Gloria Hernández, Member of finReg360;
- Soledad Núñez, Commissioner of the Bank of Spain;





 Antonio Romero, Corporate Director of Association Services, Control and Resources of CECABANK.

Alberto Estévez Lucas, Head of the CNMV's Communications Department, acted as secretary of the Jury.

The CNMV would like to thank the members of the Jury for their collaboration in the procedure. This sixth edition of the Award has seen the largest number of candidacies since its creation, with greater diversity in the types of work and subjects dealt with, in this way reflecting the relevance of this call and the validity of the values it promotes.

All the information on the <u>Antonio Moreno Award</u> is available on our website.

