

THE JURY DECIDE ON THE 2017 "ANTONIO MORENO ESPEJO" JOURNALISM AWARD

22 January 2018

The Jury of the 2017 "Antonio Moreno Espejo" Journalism Award have decided to give an ex-aequo award to the writers of two articles:

- "El Euribor, a las aulas" (The Euribor, in the classroom), written by Carlos de Fuenmayor and published on elindependiente.com.

- "Así actúan los chiringuitos financieros: cómo evitar caer en sus tentáculos" (This boiler rooms operate: how to avoid falling into their trap), jointly penned by Fernando Belinchón, Eduardo Loren García and Pablo M. Simón, and published in Cinco Días.

The Jury have underlined the fact that both works meet all the criteria established in the prize call for entries: the rigour and technical quality of the work, the extent to which it promotes transparency in the securities markets and the protection of investor interests, as well as the contribution of the work to financial education. They have also highlighted the relevance to investors of the two themes of the winning articles and the effort made by their authors to convey them clearly.

112 articles published in 15 different media were entered into this first edition of the award. CNMV created this award in memory of Antonio Moreno Espejo, who was part of the institution from its inception in the late eighties until his untimely death last January. The award carries a total cash prize of 15,000 euros and will be presented at a public ceremony.

The members of the Jury of this first edition were the following: Beatriz Gloria Viana, CNMV commissioner, as president; Ángel Martínez-Aldama, chairman of Inverco; Manuel Pardos Vicente, chairman of Adicae; Ignacio Santillán Fraile, CEO of FOGAIN.



CNMV wishes to thank the members of the Jury for their participation in the process. It also highlights the high rate of participation of media professionals and the interest shown in promoting the values pursued by the prize, values that were shared throughout his professional career by Antonio Moreno Espejo, in whose memory the award was created.

> For further information: CNMV Communications Department Tel.: 91 5851530 comunicacion@cnmv.es www.cnmv.es