

RODRIGO BUENAVENTURA, ELECTED MEMBER OF ESMA'S MANAGEMENT BOARD

26 January 2022

- The appointment is for a period of two and a half years from the beginning of the term of office and can be renewed once
- The CNMV Chairman is also the Chairman of the ESMA Investor Protection and Intermediaries Standing Committee and the ESMA Market Integrity Standing Committee

The Chairman of the Spanish National Securities Market Commission (CNMV), Rodrigo Buenaventura, has today been appointed as a member of the Management Board of the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA).

The ESMA Management Board is formed by its Chair, Verena Ross, and another six members from the Board of Supervisors. The Management Board is the main body of the institution formed by senior officials from the corresponding national supervisory bodies.

The appointment of Rodrigo Buenaventura responds to the relevance of the Spanish financial markets within the European context and the CNMV's aims of participating and having the most active presence in important international forums, and in particular, at ESMA. This institution plays a key role in the production of rules at European level and in promoting and coordinating the convergence of supervisory activities in Europe.

The relevance of the CNMV in its presence and participation in ESMA is also reflected in the fact that Rodrigo Buenaventura is also the Chairman of the Investor Protection and Intermediaries Standing Committee (IPISC) and the Market Integrity Standing Committee (MISC). Furthermore, the CNMV Vice-Chair, Montserrat Martínez Parera, chairs ESMA's Coordination Network on Sustainable Finance (CNS).

The main mission of the Management Committee is to ensure that ESMA fulfils the tasks assigned to it by the European Parliament and





the Council in its Founding Regulation, and among other specific functions, proposes working programmes and monitors budgetary and management issues of the authority.

The appointment is for a period of two and a half years from the beginning of the term of office. It will be effective as of 31 March and can be renewed only once.

Once the appointment becomes effective, the ESMA Management Board shall be formed by Verena Ross, from ESMA; Vojtech Belling, from the CNB (Czech Republic); Vasiliki Lazarakou, from the HCMC (Greece); Derville Rowland, from the CBI (Ireland); Thorsten Pötzsch, from BaFin (Germany); and Magdalena Lapsa-Parczewska, from KNF (Poland), as well as Rodrigo Buenaventura.

